Posted by: b44hanson | October 25, 2009

Tavern Law

I need to adjust how approach different styles of establishments. I think in the future for the small plate, high-end places like Spur and Tavern Law, I will use them more as a drinking establishment with really good munchies. Trying to feed three hungry adults for dinner can be a little frustrating and very expensive. Mind you the food is excellent, I just think I need to come at it from a different angle.

Last night Irena, Carol and I hit Tavern Law. We got there around 5:30 and we were the only people in the place, although it did fill up while we were there. I had a Blue Bombay Sapphire Martini, Carol had a Rum and Coke and Irena had a Pineapple Sage Cobbler Fizz. 

We originally ordered three dishes and then realized we were going to need more and ended up trying almost everything on the menu. We started with Cod Fritters, which was probably the plainest dish of everything we tried. It was good, but I still had images of round fish sticks and tartar sauce in my head. Next up was the Crispy Pork Belly and it was delicious. Yummy tender Pork Belly with the skin a little crunchy. The third of the three original dishes we ordered was a Truffle Risotto that was out of this world. So decadently rich and flavorful. We then ordered the Foie Gras that for me was the highlight of the evening. I had never tried Foie Gras before and was not expecting something so smooth and rich. The last dish was a butter fish served with kale and it was much better then the Cod Fritters. Still hungry I ordered the one dessert listed, an excellent ice cream on candied nuts.

The food was exceptional, but despite dropping over a c-note, we still left a little hungry. I will go back to Tavern Law, but it will only be for a before or after dinner drinks and appetizer adventure.

Chao

Bill

Leave a Reply

Categories

