Posted by: b44hanson | March 21, 2009

Trophy Girl Bottled

Last Monday I bottled the Trophy Girl Pale Ale. All in all the process went pretty well. I had bought a siphon starter to help with a less cootie method then using my mouth. As I moved the beer from the secondary fermentation to the bottling bucket, the siphon starter worked perfectly. How come I hadn’t used these in the past? But my happiness turned to irritation as I tried to get the tubing off of the siphon starter and broke it after only one use! Now I need to get another one!

I had bought a two cases of the Grolsch type of bottles to help with the bottling process, since their is no capping invloved. I knew I had bought two different sizes, but I hadn’t realized just how big the big ones were. They are 1 liter bottles! Needless to say, those will be saved for when it is time to share my beer.

The First Batch

The First Batch

I did taste the warm flat beer at the end of bottling and I was happy with the result. Not quite as hoppy as I was expecting, but certainly in the pale ale family. Most importantly though is that I didn’t detect any kind of an off taste. Hopefully if I didn’t introduce any off taste in the bottling process I should be ok.

I have modified my process a bit from when Matty B was guiding me in that I am now following the 1-2-3 guideline (as opposed to Matt’s 1-1-2) which says one week in primary, two in secondary and three in the bottle. That makes the unveiling date April 6th.

Chao

Bill

Responses

  1. Sweet! I would love to taste it…Strange I ran across this. So this weekend I decided to try a little thing I saw online about infusing Vodka with Skittles Flavors…taste the rainbow with a kick…Basically you dissolve the skittles one of each flavor into a container of vodka for each flavor. In the end of the process was to place them into individual containers. I was trying to think of what I could put them in and I remembered that I had a whole box of Grolsh type bottles in the garage from when we were trying to make a batch of beer years ago. It made me think of you and how you were doing. The bottles worked out great! I plan to sample the batch tonight after they have been chilling in the freezer for 24 hrs. From the posts things seeming to be doing well in WA. Glad to hear it! It sounds like you found some beautiful country to live in! Anyways hope the beer turns out great!
    Later Bud!


Leave a Reply

Categories

