Posted by: b44hanson | March 6, 2009

Surprisingly Good

Healthy week, decadent weekend. It is my routine.

During the week, I stay fairly close to the South Beach Diet guidelines of low Glycemic Index foods (low fat, whole grains, low sugar) and eating habits which has me eat three solid meals a day with two healthy snacks mixed in. It is a routine easy for me to enforce when I have to plan my meals for the day because of work. In addition to the healthier eating habits that routine brings, I have my Sherpa training regiment every day as part of my three mile walk portion of my commute, I get to increase the heart rate scaling four blocks of steep Seattle Himalayan streets.

The weekend is another story all together as I fall into more of a grazing eating pattern. This is when my shopping discipline is important, because if I have unhealthy foods lying around the house, I will consume them.

Back to eating healthy. I am always on the look-out for healthy alternatives to throw in the lunch sack for meals during the week. This is becoming easier as major market chains are embracing healthier alternatives. Safeway has their own brand of healthy foods called Eating Right. With the cooler weather of the Pacific Northwest, it has rekindled my interest in soups and this week I have tried two of Eating Right’s soups, a Black Bean and a Potato Leek.  

Potato Leek Soup
Potato Leek Soup

I don’t think any of the local restaurants have anything to feel threatened over, but I must say I was pleasantly surprised on the quality of these soups. Both were thick, hearty and spiced well to avoid the all to common “Instant Food Blahs.”

 
Chao
 
Bill
Responses

  1. Wondered if you’d tried “Poppys” on Broadway yet.
    There was a blurb on it today in the Republic.
    Sounds yummy.
    BTW Eating Right’s “Butternut Squash Ravioli” frozen meal is VERY good! Comes with snow peas, carrot slivers and walnuts.

    • Teach,

      Poppy is on my list of places to try and thanks for the tip on the Butternut Squash Ravioli.

      Bill


Leave a Reply

Categories

