Posted by: b44hanson | February 13, 2009

Seattle Deli

One of my favorite lunch spots in Arizona was Lee’s Sandwiches in Chandler. I had tried Bahn Mi (Vietnamese sandwiches) once or twice before, and liked them, but it wasn’t until I started to frequent Lee’s that I fell in love with them. I always thought that a Bahn Mi shop would work great next to a University, since their fare is good, filling and cheap. Just like the Dobson corridor in Chandler/Mesa, Seattle has it’s Asian area referred to here as the ID, International District. Today I ventured to the ID to seek out some Bahn Mi. The first sign that this was a good place to look, was literally a sign.

Welcome to Little Saigon, Seattle style

Welcome to Little Saigon, Seattle style

The heart of Little Saigon is at the intersection of 12th Ave and Jackson. A half a block up from this sign, I had found my destination, Seattle Deli.
The very non-authentic looking Seattle Deli storefront

The very non-authentic looking Seattle Deli storefront

Seattle Deli is just that, a deli. There are no tables to sit down at and eat there. There is a hot food buffet kind of set up, but it is not a help yourself buffet. They have a modest  menu of various items with what looked like to be about 6-8 different Bahn Mi selections. What the menu lacks in quantity is more then made up for in the selection of delicacies on the deli shelves. Next time I am there I will get a bit more adventurous and try some of  the other offerings, but for this trip I had a specific goal in mind, Bahn Mi. I ordered the very nondescript “Special” sandwich. Which is basically a combo, with all the trimmings. Pork, cilantro, pepper (both Jalapeno and Black), Daikon Radish, carrots all nestled in a French Roll.
Bahn Mi

Bahn Mi

The sandwich was good. The black pepper added a different twist, that I don’t know how I feel about yet. I like the flavor, but I think it masks some of the other flavors. The bread was good, fresh with a soft inside and crispy crust. On Chowhound, I had mentioned Lee’s and someone had expressed their opinion that Seattle Deli was better. On that mark I am going to have to disagree, at least upon first pass. Lee’s sandwiches were bigger at   around the same price and the bread is baked on premise and the daikon radish were more prominent. Having said that, I really did like my sandwich and would definitely go back to Seattle Deli.
 
Chao
 
Bill
Leave a Reply

Categories

